“Take a ride on us” during Balloon Fiesta 2022

Bernalillo County, New Mexico – Bernalillo County Department of Behavioral Health Services, Cumulus Media, New Mexico Department of Transportation, and Whitener Law Firm announce details of a safe transportation option for Balloon Fiesta celebrations. The “Take a Ride on Us” program provides the community with the opportunity to enjoy a safe driving option instead of driving under the influence during weekday celebrations when alcohol consumption is common.

‘Take a Ride on Us’ campaign offers 1,000 rides starting Friday, September 30efrom noon to Monday, October 10eat 3:00 a.m. Participants can redeem the Uber code BALLOON22 to get the discount. Each code is good for 2 rides per person, $10 off per ride. Credit can only be used for rides, not Uber Eats, and discount does not cover tipping.

“Take a Ride on Us” is the creation of Cumulus Media Albuquerque. The program has been a huge success thanks to the incredible partnership between Uber, Bernalillo County, the New Mexico Department of Transportation’s ENDWI campaign, and the law firm Whitener.

Bernalillo County contributed $60,000 to this annual effort. The county’s financial contribution comes from liquor excise taxes—additional taxes that retailers and consumers in New Mexico pay when purchasing liquor. The New Mexico Department of Taxation and Revenue collects and distributes taxes to New Mexico counties on a quarterly basis.

The program has provided a safe driving option to more than 27,000 passengers in Albuquerque since 2017.

# # #

About Bernalillo County

Bernalillo County covers 1,160 square miles and is the most populous county in New Mexico with over 676,000 residents. The Bernalillo County government provides a wide range of public services to residents who live in Albuquerque, Los Ranchos, and Tijeras and to the 111,000 residents who live outside the village and city limits in unincorporated areas of the county. . Bernalillo County employs approximately 2,500 people and has an annual operating budget and capital investments of over $650 million. The elected include five county commissioners, an assessor, a clerk, a probate judge, a sheriff and a treasurer.